YOKER Athletic crashed out of the Scottish Junior Cup on Saturday, losing 3-2 to Irvine Victoria after some sloppy defending and missed chances from the home side.

Whe-Ho boss Steven Reilly restored Liam Campbell, Michael Bailey, James Ross, Kenny Marshall, Greg Maitland and David Crerand to the starting line-up.

The home side started sloppily, allowing the Vics to dominate early on with Eddie Ablorh and Grant Bolton both going close.

Yoker’s first real chance came when Ryan Hynes skipped past Condon but Lamb made a good stop to deny the Whe-Ho frontman.

Hynes did though turn provider for the game’s opening goal when he guided Maitland’s cross into the path of Crerand who nodded home from close range after 25 minutes.

Crerand then had to be replaced by Arbuckle and the veteran striker should have doubled the lead after excellent work from Maitland on the wing.

Just when it looked like Yoker would go in at the interval in front Bolton was afforded space in the middle of the six-yard box to head home an equaliser.

Moments after the restart Vics went in front when Ablorh lost his marker Ross to head past Campbell.

Yoker didn’t let this affect them though and were level on the hour mark when Andy Rankin fired past Lamb.

Yoker continued to press for a winning goal with Arbuckle, Maitland, Bailey and Rankin all threatening the Vics goal.

The visitors though remained a threat on the break with Ablorh’s pace a constant menace to a nervy Whe-Ho defence.

With the game drawing to a close the hosts looked like the only team who would win the match but Vics snatched a dramatic late winner when Adams bundled home from close range with just two minutes remaining.

Rankin pulled a shot wide in stoppage time before a melee from a Marshall corner saw Gary Bissland and Kerr Allan have attempts blocked.

It’s three defeats on the bounce now for the Whe-Ho after a promising start to the season.

And it won’t get any easier this week when high-flying Shettleston visit Holm Park in a league match. Kick-off is at 2pm.

YOKER ATH: Campbell, Bailey, Smith, Allan, Ross, Henry (Bissland), Rankin, Marshall, Hynes (Kelly), Crerand (Arbuckle), Maitland, Campbell, McGillion.