BANKIES are being encouraged to register to vote in the upcoming Clydebank Central by-election.

We previously reported that seven candidates had been chosen to contest the vote which will take place on Thursday, June 13.

Candidates for the Clydebank Central by-election

  • Fiona Hennebry - Scottish Labour Party
  • Nathan Hennebry - Communist Party of Britain
  • Ewan McGinnigle - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Andrew Joseph Muir - Independent
  • Kai Robert Murray Pyper - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Marina Scanlan - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Kelly Wilson - Sovereignty

The vote will be decided using the Single Transferable Vote electoral system.

It has been called following the resignation of disgraced former independent councillor Craig Edward in March.

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm on the day.

The count will take place immediately after with the successful candidate expected to be announced as soon as possible.

READ NEXT: Candidates chosen for Clydebank by-election - what you need to know

Peter Hessett, West Dunbartonshire Council’s chief executive and returning officer, has said it is “extremely important” that residents living in this ward use their vote.

He commented: “It is extremely important that West Dunbartonshire residents use their vote to have their say on who they want to represent them.

“The successful candidate elected as a councillor will make decisions on behalf of residents about local services including roads, parks, schools and planning.

“But only residents in the Clydebank Central ward who are registered ahead of the deadline will have the opportunity to cast their vote.

“People least likely to be registered include first-time voters or those who have recently moved house.

“I’d encourage anyone who is unsure whether they are on the electoral register to contact the electoral registration office on 0141 562 1200 and, if necessary, complete the forms online which will take just a few minutes.

“In addition, any resident requiring a postal or proxy vote should apply now before the deadline.”

Those living within this ward have until midnight on Tuesday, May 28 to register.

This can be done by visiting the UK Government’s website HERE or by sending an application to the Electoral Registration Officer at 235 Dumbarton Road, Clydebank (G81 4XJ) by the same date.

Applications, amendments, or cancellations of postal votes must also be sent to the above address by 5pm on Wednesday, May 29.

To vote by proxy, applications must again be sent to the Electoral Registration Officer by 5pm on Wednesday, June 5.

Those looking to amend or cancel an existing vote by proxy arrangement must send an application by 5pm on Wednesday, May 29.